The Finnish composer Tomi Räisänen (b. 1976) studied composition at the Sibelius Academy. Before entering the Academy he read music at the University of Helsinki studying musicology and composition. Räisänen completed his studies by participating in several international composition masterclasses. Räisänen's list of works contains compositions from large scale orchestral works and concertos to ensemble and chamber music. Besides writing for standard classical music instruments, he is also interested in composing for non-orchestral instruments like accordion, guitartoy piano as well as renaissance, baroque and non-Western instruments. Many of his works involve use of electronics and he has also made music for films and sound installations. Räisänen’s music has been widely performed and broadcast in 44 countries across the world as well as released on several CDs. In 2021 Räisänen won two composition competitions: The Lux Musicae composition competition with the ensemble work 'Tele' and the Composition Competition for the Tampere Piano Competition with his work 'Hile'. In 2019 Marimba Concerto 'Portal' was awarded with the III Prize and it won the Audience Prize in the International Uuno Klami Composition Competition in Finland. In 2007 Räisänen won the Irino Prize in Japan with the work 'Stheno' and in 2002 he was awarded with the II Prize in the International Composition Competition 2 Agosto in Italy. Räisänen has been teaching in the annual Sävellyspaja composition masterclass since 2014. 

Composing and commissions supported by (in alphabetical order): Alfred Kordelin Foundation, Arts Council of Finland, Arts Council of Helsinki Metropolitan Region, Arts Promotion Centre Finland, City of Helsinki Cultural Office, Finnish Cultural Foundation, Finnish Music Foundation (MES), Goethe Institut, Greta and William Lehtinen Foundation, Kone Foundation, Kulturfonden för Sverige och Finland, Madetoja Foundation, Meir Rimon Commissioning Assistance Program of the International Horn Society, Oskar Öflunds Stiftelse, Pro Musica Foundation, Sibelius Fund, Teosto, Uusimaa Regional Fund.

In year 2021 work supported by Kone Foundation and Arts Promotion Centre Finland.